Vegan Ethos

...a real forum.

House Plants

What's it like at your house?

House Plants

Postby matryoshka » Mon Feb 14, 2011 4:28 am

i like house plants. when i first moved into my apartment i had two, and i recently got several more. i almost killed the two i started with, but i somehow brought them back to life. i'm still learning about this whole taking care of plants business.

i have:
2 varieties of croton
a snake plant
dumb cane
pothos
fittonia
and 4 kinds of cacti

what kind of house plants do you guys have? any tips to share?
the vegan formerly known as bekah-chan
matryoshka

Re: House Plants

Postby JasperKat » Mon Feb 14, 2011 3:41 pm

We don't have plants because we have bad cats. Even cut flowers are out unless I make sure they're behind a closed door.

However, my mom put one of those little "grow a tree" kits in my Xmas stocking and they're actually growing! I'm pretty shocked, my house has zero sunny spots that are also cat safe, so I have to move the pots around into sunbeams a couple times a week. I'm probably overwatering them because the pots are near the sink so I see them 10 times a day and give them a drizzle from the faucet when the dirt is dry. But against all odds; pine tree sprouts!

-JK
JasperKat

Postby Ariann » Tue Feb 15, 2011 1:41 am

I have a dead pot of sage. Still haven't figured out how to not kill houseplants. My husband has offered to build me a window-box for the spring, maybe that will be more successful.
Ariann

Postby SeitanicVegan » Tue Feb 15, 2011 3:07 am

Ariann wrote:I have a dead pot of sage. Still haven't figured out how to not kill houseplants. My husband has offered to build me a window-box for the spring, maybe that will be more successful.